Skip to main content

Our Club

Est. 1907

About the Club

With a rich history spanning over a century, Sorrento Golf Club has cemented its place as one of the premier golf destinations on Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula. The club’s origins trace back to 1907, when a group of enthusiastic locals first struck up a game on makeshift holes laid out on sandy land near the shores of Port Phillip Bay. From these humble beginnings, driven by a shared passion for golf, the official Sorrento Golf Club formed in 1907 and set out on the journey to craft a championship seaside course that could match the finest in the state.

Over 115 years later, that vision has been fully realised through determination, community spirit, and continuing improvement. The timeline below documents Sorrento Golf Club’s storied history from the early days of golfers venturing out with their own clubs to the current championship-calibre course that meanders through coastal dunes. It is a story characterised by perseverance through challenges, celebration of milestones, and commitment to nurturing the unique golfing experience found at Sorrento.

Sorrento Golf Club - Historical Timeline

Harris, Thomson and Wolveridge Masterplan

“They had some shocking holes really. It was a marvellous opportunity to re-look at it all. Peter and I set about it and actually gave them a plan. In 1971 or 1972 the club said to start with the first hole.” Michael Wolveridge.


Six golf enthusiasts gather at the Continental Hotel to discuss the formation of the ‘Sorrento and Portsea Golf Club’, as it was originally known. Augustus F Hiskens is elected as our first Captain while James Wright is elected President. A cottage is rented for use as a clubhouse on Boroondara Road and annual subscriptions are set at one guinea for men and half that amount for women. The rules of the Victoria Golf Club are adopted for use at Sorrento.


The original nine-hole course opens, having been designed by W.L. Spicer, also the first course professional at Sorrento. After plentiful rains in the early part of 1908, the Mornington Standard reported that ‘the grass has grown so luxuriantly that the club had to get a mob of about 30 head of cattle to eat it down’.


Club renamed ‘Sorrento Golf Club’ following an extra-ordinary General Meeting. The reason for this change is unknown.


Official Clubhouse, built by Mr W.S. Croad, opens at Langford Road on 27th January 1912, to replace the rented cottage. Members were notified that, ‘Luncheons and Afternoon Teas can be had on application to the Housekeeper on any day during the week.’


Englishman J.D.A. Scott (not to be confused with course superintendent at the time, James Scott, of Scottish descent) is commissioned to design a new 18 hole course.


Construction is completed on the challenging new 18 hole layout. The unconventional design divides critics. An article in Table Talk stated ‘…There is more true joy obtained from playing better on a solid test than on doing better scores over places that are in a golfing way little better than croquet lawns.’ Later adding, ‘Those unskilled golfers who complain of the troubles they encounter on the new Sorrento and who call for alternate simple routes to the more testing holes are in almost every case wholly to blame for what happens to them.’


Walter Scott, son of James Scott, takes over as Course Superintendent. He held the position until his retirement in 1980 and was succeeded by his son Russell Scott, marking three generations of Scott’s in the role.


After playing unofficial Pennant competitions since the end of WWII, Sorrento and a group of other local clubs known as the Southern Peninsula Golf District are recognised by the Victorian Golf Association. Sorrento has won many Pennant competitions since and continues to play the annual competition.


While the Clubhouse is known for it’s unforgettable all-night black tie parties, considerable changes to the 18 layout are taking place. These include the introduction of the 2nd hole, lengthening the 3rd hole, establishing the 4th hole, shortening the 5th hole and adding the 8th and 9th holes.


Peter Thomson and Mike Wolveridge are appointed course architects and commence work on improving the layout of the course and making improvements to most holes. Bob Reilly initiates the mid-week Wednesday Boys competition which continues to this day, later incorporating the Cock of the Walk


The Club commenced construction on the Sam Wilson dam near the 7th hole. At it’s completion, the dam would hold 31.8 mega litres.


Shane Greenhill is appointed Course Superintendent. He continues to excel in this role to the present day.


The Sorrento Golf Club celebrates one hundred years of operation on Saturday 31 March 2007. 530 Members attend a lavish party and seafood buffet. In light of this milestone and the growing membership, it is clear that the clubhouse requires renovation and expansion.


Clubhouse re-opens after major renovations, with a light, modern interior designed by Margie Bromilow. The new-look clubhouse affords a great deal more space for events and activities and is much-loved by the membership.